Adult Restitution Fines — Quick Reference Sheet
RESTITUTION FINES

Restitution fines are a major source of funding for the Victim Compensation and Government Claims Board (Board) and the state Restitution Fund (Fund).
The Board uses the Fund to assist victims and their families with economic losses suffered as a direct result of a qualifying crime.

Misdemeanor Conviction Felony Conviction
$100 - $1,000 $200 - $10,000
(Pen. Code §1202.4(b)(1)) (Pen. Code §1202.4(b)(1))
(] The court shall impose the restitution fine unless it finds ° |nabi|ity to pay is NOT a Compe”ing and extraordinary reason
compelling and extraordinary reasons for not doing so and states for waiving the fine. (Pen. Code §1202.4(c))

those reasons on the record. (Pen. Code §1202.4(c))

. . , e The fine CANNOT be stayed
e A separate hearing for the fine is NOT required.

(Pen. Code §1202.4(d))

DETERMINING A FINE ABOVE THE MINIMUM PROBATION REVOCATION RESTITUTION FINE

A trial court shall impose a probation revocation restitution fine equal to the restitution fine whenever
a sentence includes a period of probation. The probation revocation restitution fine shall be
suspended unless probation is permanently revoked. (Pen. Code §1202.44)

To set a misdemeanor or felony fine above the minimum, the court SHALL consider any relevant
factors including, but not limited to:

Number of victims
Seriousness and gravity of the offense

Circumstances of its commission PAROLE REVOCATION RESTITUTION FINE

Economic gain derived by the defendant as a result of the crime

Extent to which any other person suffered losses A trial court shall impose a parole revocation restitution fine equal to the restitution fine whenever a
Pecuniary losses to the victim or his/her dependents sentence includes a period of parole. The parole revocation restitution fine shall be suspended
Psychological harm to the victim or his/her dependents unless parole is revoked. (Pen. Code §1202.45)

Defendant’s inability to pay
Defendant’s future earning capacity

INCOME DEDUCTION ORDER

Defendant is presumed to be able to pay above the minimum restitution fine and the statute Restitution orders to victims require an order (Form CR-119) for income deduction on determination
expressly places the burden on a defendant to prove lack of ability. People v. Romero (1996) of defendant’s ability to pay. The defendant bears the burden to show inability to pay. (Pen. Code
43 Cal.App.4th 440, 449 §1202.42) California Judges Benchguide 2005, §§83.64, 83.87

A felony fine above the minimum MAY be determined by using the following formula:
$200 x years sentenced x felony counts (of which the defendant is convicted, $10,000 MANDATORY DIVERSION FEE/DEFERRED ENTRY OF JUDGMENT
maximum). (Pen. Code §1202.4(b)(2))

$100 - $1,000
CIVIL JUDGMENT (Pen. Code §1001.90(b) and (i))
Restitution fines and orders are enforceable as if they were civil judgments. (Pen. Code §1214(a) Diversion also means deferred entry of judgment pursuant to Chapter 2.5 (commencing with section
& (b)) 1000) of the Penal Code. Exception: Persons whose cases are diverted pursuant to Chapter 2.8

(commencing with section 1001.20) of the Penal Code.
DEFENDANT’S STATEMENT OF ASSETS

The defendant must file a statement of assets (Form CR 115) with the clerk no later than the
defendant’s sentencing date, unless otherwise directed by the court. (Pen. Code §1202.4(f)(5)- CHILD ABUSE/MOLEST FINE

(10)) California Judges Benchguide 2005, §§83.68, 83.85 - » ) ) _
Restitution fine specifically for child abuse/molest crimes. Fine not to exceed $1,000 for

The defendant must file an updated financial statement with the clerk 90 days prior to release misdemeanor conviction and $5,000 for felony conviction. Court must consider the defendant’s
from probation if there is an unpaid balance on a restitution order or fine 120 days prior to ability to pay. The funds from this fine are deposited in the Restitution Fund and transferred to the
release from probation. (Pen. Code §1202.4(f)(11)) county children’s trust fund for the purposes of child abuse prevention. (Pen. Code §294) California

Judges Benchguide 2005, §83.8
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